Diane Johnson on Twitter LPC Blog LPC on Facebook

Livestock Publications Council

The 2018 Forrest Bassford Student Award winner is Madison Schafer-Hokanson, a student at South Dakota State University.
Pictured are Jenn Norrie, of Alltech; Hokanson; Alexa Norwald, of the University of Missouri; Sarah Moyer, of Kansas State University; and Kiera Leddy, of Oklahoma State University.

Forrest Bassford Student Award

The student winner receives an all-expenses-paid trip to participate in LPC's annual convention and now the Ag Media Summit. This award recognizes and rewards excellence, leadership and encourages professionalism among students. This opportunity provides the recipient face-to-face exchanges with leaders in livestock publishing. Forrest Bassford's name was appended to the LPC Student Award in 1992 in honor of his contribution to LPC, and his particular interest in furthering the Student Award. The overall winner receives a $2,000 scholarship and up to four additional students each receive $750 travel scholarships to attend the convention. Following are recipients of the Forrest Bassford Student Award.

Download Application - Word      Applications due February 15, 2019

Madison Schafer-Hokanson
South Dakota State University

Topanga McBride
Kansas State University

Nora Faris
University of Missouri

Nicole Lane
Kansas State University

Logan Britton
Kansas State University

Keri Weis
University of Missouri

Ellen Reeder
University of Illinois

Jill Johnson
University of Illinois

Lisa Brown
Oklahoma State Univ.

Whitney Wallace
University of Missouri

Lindsay Domer
Kansas State University

Katie Allen
University of Missouri

Ginger Larson
University of Florida

Annie Whitehill
Kansas State University

Teresa Oe
N. Dakota State University

Lance Zimmerman
Kansas State University

Sharlene Swaim
Cal Poly State University

Corrine Blender
Kansas State University

Rhonda Nida
Kansas State University

Jennifer Hotchkiss
Kansas State University

Colleen Walsh
Cal Poly State University

Brad Parker
Kansas State University

Jane Taft

Angie Stump
Kansas State University

Erin Pettigrew
South Dakota State University

Jennifer Searcy
Ohio State University

Doyce Elliott
Texas A&M University

Alice Sherman
Washington State University

Claudine Cole
University of Illinois

Julie Hines
Ohio State University

Lora Duxbury
South Dakota State University

Anita Geddes
University of Missouri

Lea Weinheimer
Texas Tech University

Kelly Meyer
Kansas State University

Travel Scholarship Winners

2018: Alexa Nordwald, University of Missouri; Sarah Moyer, Kansas State University; Kiera Leddy, Oklahoma State University

2017: Katie Friedrichs, Oklahoma State University; Taylor Belle Matheny, Kansas State University; and Jill Seiler, Kansas State University.

2016: Audrey Green, Kansas State University; Chamonix Mejia, Texas Tech University and Tim Taylor, Oklahoma State University

2015: Kendall Herren, University of Illinois; Jamie Keyes, Utah State University; Kaitlin Morgan, Kansas State University

2014: Breanne Brammer, University of Missouri; Courtney Leeper, University of Missouri; Lynsey Meharg, Texas Tech University

2013: Reba Underwood, West Texas A&M; Claire Carlson, Kansas State University and Logan Britton, Kansas State University

2012: Mollie Lastovica, Texas A&M University; Robin Kleine, Kansas State University; Faith Jurek, Texas Tech University

2011: Andrew Barth, Oklahoma State; Janell Baum, University of Illinois; and Shannon Watson, Oklahoma State

2010: Kristen Odom, Texas Tech University; Kelsey Fletcher, Texas Tech University; Nicole Ely, Kansas State University

2009: Rachel Duff, University of Missouri; Julie White, Kansas State University; and Katherine Kuykendall, Purdue University

2008: Sarah Jackson, University of Missouri-Columbia; Emily Whitmoyer, Texas A&M; and Julie White, Kansas State

2007: Stephanie Miles, Texas Tech; Clint Blaes, Kansas State, and Melissa Leander, Kansas State

2006: Sara Muri,University of Missouri-Columbia; Melissa Hildebrand, Kansas State; Heather Jennings, Texas A&M

2005: Sara Muri, University of Missouri-Columbia; Stephanie Jeter, Texas A&M; Wendy Mayo, Kansas State

2004: Leslie Shuler, University of Wisconsin-River Falls; Katrina Waters, Texas Tech

2003: Rachel Bobbitt, Oklahoma State; Garrett Wilkerson, Texas A&M; Audrey Young, Kansas State

2002: Shannon Hartenstein, Kansas State; Lucas Shivers, Kansas State; Melissa Karcher, Ohio State

2001: Kerri Howell, Texas Tech; Maggie Martin, Kansas State; Beverly Moseley, University of Florida

2000: Jennifer Ryan, Kansas State; Lindsay Williams, Oklahoma State

1999: Sarah Domeier, University of Nebraska; D. Mischelle Coston, University of Arkansas; Jennifer Simonson, Oklahoma State

1998: Linda Albers, Kansas State; Diane Dinse, University of Missouri; Rebecca Rhoades, University of Missouri

1997: Janna Quaring, Oklahoma State; Wendy Meyer, Hastings College (Neb.) Melissa J. Markway, University of Missouri